Golf report

August 22, 2017


With the recent drop of rain the course was in amazing condition for a small field taking to the course on Sunday with a few members going along to Lockington to support their annual Murray Human Services Day.

Winner of the stroke round was Francis Lee with a great score of 76-11-65, from runner-up Todd Louttit 69-3-66.

Nearest the pin (seventh/16th) Steve Holt, (eighth/17th) Francis Lee, (second shot fourth/13th) Todd Louttit. Longest drive, Todd Louttit.

Next week will be a two person pottose and the Privilege Cup (two person privilege cup).

Our annual Bell Day teams event supported by Rich River Golf Club Resort will be held on Friday, September 1.

Entries to Anita Ward on 0417 575 815 or Louise Williams on 0409 533 474 by August 29.


Monday niners managed a game for a change with the weather being kind and David Marshall was the winner (60-17-43), one stroke better than John Oakley who had (61-17-44).

Marshall also won the straightest drive ninth.

The Wednesday women were the ones to chicken out, it being so icy cold.

Tomorrow, after a stroke game, we prepare for our tournament with all hands on deck.

Denise Pappin, Faye Latter and Naida Belot played at the Sandscrape Championship at Marong last Friday.

There were some squally conditions and cold rain during the afternoon, and there were unconfirmed reports of people seeing Mary Poppins flying by, holding tight to her brolly.

This is our tournament week, hope to see you there.


The Chicken Run played stableford on Tuesday, August 15, on the front nine.

Bruce Rasmussen (20 points) was the winner from Alan Campbell (18).

Nearest the pin in two shots on the fourth was Stewart Ayson.

The women played nine holes of stableford on Wednesday, August 16.

Marilyn Morrell was the winner with 15 points on a count back from Joy Rasmussen and Sherryn Pedersen.

The men played stroke, monthly medal and count putts on Saturday.

Mac Whittle was the winner with nett 69 from Harry Whittle (71).

Harry Whittle with 24 putts, was the putting winner from runner-up Tom Carboon (27) on a count back from Bruce Rasmussen.

The football/netball guest day (ambrose) is now on Saturday, August 26, a 12 noon assembly for 12.30pm hit off.


Golfers played a stableford round at Lockington on Saturday and with a solid score of 41 points Steve Holt was best on course and won the Privilege Cup, Pentreaths Supermarket player of the day voucher and A grade as well.

Next best in A grade were Gary Milligan (40), Kevin Humbert (39), Terry Thomas (38) and A grade-newbie Rick Connors (35).

Blake Humbert made it back-to-back wins in B grade with 35 points, ahead of Barry Graham (33).

C grade honours went to Mark Lyons with 34, in a close finish from Will Hardess and Tom Scurrah, who both finished with 33.

Nearest the pins: third, Terry Thomas; second shot 18th A grade, Grant Humbert (put his tee shot on the scrape and sunk the putt for an eagle); B grade, Blake Humbert; C grade, Mark Lyons; second shot 13th for the six-pack smack, Terry Thomas.

Spike’s longest drive on the second, sponsored by Hot ‘n’ Cold Plumbing: A grade, Grant Humbert; B grade, Barry Graham; C grade, Jayden Wright.

Neither the Echuca CIH eagles nest on the third, nor Captain Terry’s yardstick prize on the 16th was won.

The 2017 Murray Human Services annual golf day was played on Sunday, with the day generously supported by visitors from Bamawm, Rochester, Howlong and Rich River.

Mixed division scratch winners: Cheryl Hicks, Lee Hicks, Stephen Bubb, Jake Wright 64 (and it could have been better but for the putting).

Nett winners: Leisa Evans, Paul Evans, Dylan Cuttriss, Ellie Cuttriss 70-14.5-55.5.

Nett runners-up: Brad Major, Jason Cartlidge, Louise Williams, Rachael Major 65-8.5-56.5.

Men’s division scratch winners: the Echuca Mazda Mitsubishi team of Matthew Hoare, Albert Missen, Joshua Cleary, Shaun McCormick 66.

Nett winners: Travis Mancer, Matt Baulch, Rob Hardess, Will Hardess 69-11.625-57.375.

Nearest the pins: women’s third, Leisa Evans; seventh, Rachael Major; 16th, Rachael Major; 17th, Cheryl Hicks.

Men’s third, Andrew Harris; seventh, Jake Wright; 16th, Jeff Carnie; 17th, Blake Humbert.

Tomorrow will be stableford and the third round of the Mona Hewlett trophy. Duty will be Kathy Connors and Jenny Holt.

On Saturday is the annual foursomes championships, 27 holes, remember to organise a partner. Duty will be Tom Scurrah and Ron Dixon.


Bruce Bryant and Graham Willis finally got the chance to play off in the clubs four ball match play grand final after their false start several weeks back.

Bryant and Clark held a slender lead after nine holes and most thought their bigger hitting opponents in James Walsh and Steve Bubb would real them back in over the longer holes namely the 11th and the stretch from 13 through to 16.

However they kept their nerve with Bryant starting to play steady golf and halving those harder holes, finally wrapping up the game three and two on the 16th.

Although Walsh’s 36 stableford points was a good score on the day it wasn’t enough to win either the four ball or the event of the day.

Bradley Major showed glimpses of his ability by winning with 37 points, Steve Malley, Willis (35) Bryant and Peter Anderson (34) were the next best and ball winners on the day.

Malley (3), Willis (5), Bubb (8) and Bryant (18) were the NTP winners.

Wednesday golf nine hole event was won by Trevor English from Tim Quinlan.

The club wishes English, Bruce Major and Bob Knight all the best in celebrating the 1962 Rochester Football Club Premiers and Champions reunion next weekend.

Fine prizes including novelty events and a special football teams event will be part of the annual MND charity day on the Friday prior to the AFL grand Final (September 29).

Our annual trip away has been booked for Sunday, October 8, at Cohuna Golf Club.

Names to Peter Anderson and captain Leigh Hicks as soon as possible so the club can book carts and the appropriate size bus.

In windy, cold and wet conditions a few courageous women ventured out to play a par round on Friday, Jenny Major was the winner from Andrea Windridge with -2.

Major also won nearest the pins on the fifth and 16th, Leisa Evans (eighth) and Louise Williams on the third.

Next Friday the event is stroke and count the putts competition.

Di Gallagher and Jenny Major were unlucky not to win the major trophy at Lakeside Golf Club (Lake Boga) after losing on a countback.

More in Campaspe News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text