Rochester district golf notes

Runners-up: A brilliant round of 62 was not enough for victory on Saturday at the Rochester Golf Club event for Rob Ralph, Kane and Gary Charnas, in the Rochester Electrical-sponsored three-person ambrose.


Beautiful day on course Sunday, with 14 men and five ladies for a stableford round.

Winner of the mens competition on a three-way count back was Andrew Cochrane (36 points) from Francis Lee and David Winchcombe.

Winner for the ladies was Nikita Frawley (44 points) from Captain Kath Connors (35 points).

Nearest the pins, 4/13 Francis Lee; 7/16 Andrew Cochrane; 5/14 Kath Connors; 7/16 Kim Dingwall; 8/17 Jenny Holt.

Longest Drive Glen Viney (men) with a fantastic 268m, Jenny Holt (womens) and Francis Lee (veterans).

Unfortunately our Presidents’ Day was postponed until this Sunday, July 31, stableford round hit off between 10.30 and 11.30. Barbecue dinner and presentations to follow, all welcome.


Wednesday nine-hole social golf saw a great field of 22 players, contest a three-person ambrose.

Winners on the day were Alex MacQuibban, Shane Bywaters and Gavin Houlihan with a one under score of 34 les 53/6 net 28-3/6, runners up were the team of Kevin McCormack, Lee Hicks and Ross Lees 3 under 32 net 29-1/6. Laurie Jackel's liking for the 12th hole to once again win the nearest the pin.

Louise Willimas continued her great form to win her 3rd consecutive Ladies Championship last Friday, Willaims final score of 95 was easily the best for a total of 278.

Winner on the day was Cheryl Hicks with 106-36-70 on a countback from the unlucky Barb McCarty 103-33-70. Nearest the pin winners were Karen Taylor (5), 2nd shot (3) Di Johnson, Marg Knight (8), Williams (16), and Jenny Major straighest drive on (10)

Saturday’s event was the Rochester Electrical three-person ambrose, played off the blue markers, President Lee Hick’s, team of Jake Wright and sponsor Shane Connelly, 2 under score of 69 - 72/6 net 61 4/6 was the best from a good field, Robert Ralph, Gary and Kane Charnas were next best for a net 62. Best Gross score on the day went to the team of Paul Colyvan, father and son duo of Scott and Zac Wileman with a very impressive 68. Colyvan was also nearest on (8), Kane Charnas on (16) and straight drive on (10) went to Tim Quinlan.

Up coming events, next Saturday, July 30, is the third round of our Stableford championship, the popular St Joseph’s golf day (4 person ambrose) is on Saturday, August 6, while the "Trades for Trout" day will be held later in August.


Sunday was a two-club and putter event over 18 holes. The winner was Ray Peake with a great 79 nett from John Canavan on 82 nett. 2nd shot on the 7th went to Frank Broucek and the straightest drive from Kevin Burrow was on the line. Our count the putts was taken out by Lyn Canavan. This Sunday we will be playing a Par 3 - 18 hole event.


With the course in great condition Ladies winner was Corrie Holmberg winning the Boundary Hotel Voucher, Runner up was Denise Pappin.

Chicken Run winner was Wayne Billet with Runner up Troy Holmberg. NTP on 14 in 2 shots was Max Williams.

Round 2 of the Club Championship was played in ideal conditions, A-Grade winner was Luke Price 87-13-74, Runner up was Robert Niven 897-12-75.

B Grade Winner was Harry Grogan 90-18-72, Runner up was Jeff Trewick 97-23-74.

NTP -Super Pin Darren Beecroft, Longest putt on 9 was Jake Price, Count Putts was Harry Grogan with 24 putts.

Following the final round next week [July31] will be a pizza night all welcome.


Golfers played a stroke round at Lockington on Saturday and it was 92-year-old golfer Don Muhleisen who returned the super score of 89-27-62 to win the Monthly Medal and C -Grade honours — and shoot a score lower than his age for the second time, a remarkable achievement.

Don’s round was highlighted by good chipping and even better putting, only 22 for the round. His score was the best nett on the day by a whopping 5 shots and carved 2 shots off his GA handicap in the process.

Steve Holt was in good form with 80-13-67 to win A-Grade ahead of Mat Dennis (78-7-71), while B-Grade was won by Darren Carnie (90-20-70). Gartside Cup qualifiers: Don Muhleisen, Ron Dixon, Terry Thomas (c/b); standby — Trav Mancer.

Yardstick balls (next best scores, all grades): 72- Jason Wakefield, Mark Lyons, Ron Dixon; 73 – Terry Thomas. Best scratch scores: A Grade – Grant Humbert 78 c/b Mat Dennis; B Grade – Darren Carnie 90; C Grade – Don Muhleisen 89.

Nearest the pins: 17th – Steve Holt; 2nd shot 13th – Grant Humbert (A), Ian Maddison (B), Tom Scurrah (C); 2nd shot 18th for the 6-pack smack – Mat Dennis.

Spike’s Longest Drive on the 14th, sponsored by Hot ‘n’ Cold Plumbing – Grant Humbert (A), Ian Maddison (B), Tom Scurrah (C). Neither the Echuca CIH eagles nest on the 3rd, nor Captain Bricka’s yardstick prize on the 16th was won.

The first of the Handicap Matchplay Championship quarter finals has been decided. Terry Thomas began brilliantly to win the first 4 holes against Kahl Oliver, and ultimately won the contest 5 and 4, to progress to the semi-finals.

The women played a stableford round on Friday, with some good scores returned, none better than Helen Hayes with a terrific 38, to be best on course. Runner-up was Phyll Macfarlane with 36 in a welcome return to form, enjoying the conditions. Nearest the pin: Marg Eade.

Upcoming events: Friday 29th July – Stroke – Secret 9. Saturday 30th July – Stableford – Privilege Cup. Duty: Graeme Hodgens, James Hodgens.