Campaspe Golf

By Campaspe News


Monday niners saw a determined game between Frank Broucek (43-71/2-351/2) to win from Rod McAsey (56-17-39).

Frank had NTP 7th, Rod had his usual straightest drive on the 9th and Frank’s putter was working well to score 13 putts.

It was another championship round so it will be interesting to see who makes it at the end.

Wednesday ladies saw Denise Pappin have another win with 52-11-41 as Naida Belot finished as runner-up on 66-22-44.

Straightest drive 3rd went to Denise as did the putts (15).

Denise is travelling to other clubs representing Campaspe in their tournaments with some success.

Wayne Robinson claimed the men’s straightest drive on the 9th.

Also included in today’s notes is a photo of the winners of the Campaspe Cup, held on May 31.

Des Pentreath and Barry Graham had a great score of 43 points.


A strong field competed for the Sportspower voucher in Saturday’s stableford event at Rochester Golf Club.

High scores were the order of the day with players enjoying the changed blue course, challenging the straight hitters.

Neil Coghill — armed with new equipment — came home with 40 points equalling veteran Richard Feuk but taking the prize on a countback.

Shane Wolfe was one point adrift on 39 to snatch third place while Jake Wright recorded 38 points on his low handicap to snare fourth place.

Leigh Hicks was the ball winner with 36.

NTPs: 3rd — Shane Wolfe and 5th — Liam Keenan.

Jake Wright took the best shots on both the 9th and 18th holes.

Wright is in hot form and will be a real threat for this year’s club championship in July.

This Saturday is a stroke round with four players qualifying for the club singles handicap matchplay finals.

This honour board event is keenly sought after and a good field is expected.

The monthly medal is also on offer for the best nett score.

A good field saluted on Wednesday for the nine-hole event. Once again, Richard Feuk was victorious with 23 points edging out Laurie Radley on 22.

Friday ladies enjoyed great sunny weather and Carole Prigg was the winner on the revamped yellow course with a score of 99-20-79.

Monday saw the annual Cec Parsons shield with Lockington and Rochester competing over 18 holes at Locky.

This mixed teams event is rotated between the clubs each year with both teams competing for bragging rights.

Results will appear next week.


A good crowd of 31 golfers enjoyed a glorious winter’s day for golf on Saturday.

Fresh back from his trip to WA, Ron Dixon was best on course winning the St Andrews Trophy and the Giddings Supermarket player of the Day voucher.

Dixon scored 91-23-68 to finish on a countback ahead of Jeff Carnie and Tim Staley.


A grade: Winner — Tim Staley 82-14-68. Runner-up — Jimmy Hodgens 85-15-70 (c/b).

B grade: Winner — Jeff Carnie 85-17-68. Runner-up — Darren Carnie 88-19-69.

C grade: Winner — Ron Dixon 91-23-68. Runner-up — Blake Humbert 93-24-69. Third — JD Wright 97-27-70.

Yardstick balls (next best scores): A grade – Terry Thomas, Brett Stone and Gary Milligan all nett 70. B grade — Ian Haines, Jason Wakefield and Steve Holt all nett 70. C grade — Will Hardess and Ian Scurrah both nett 72.

NTPs: 17th — Bowden Stone; 2nd shot 13th — Tim Staley (A), Matt Baulch (B), Tom Scurrah (C); 2nd shot 18th for the 8-pack smack — Mat Dennis.

Spike’s longest drive on the 8th, sponsored by Hot ‘n’ Cold Plumbing: Grant Humbert (A), Matt Baulch (B), Bruce Haines (C).

Brett Stone won the 12 balls in the Echuca CIH eagles nest on the 3rd with an excellent tee shot.

Captain Will’s yardstick prize on the 16th wasn’t won.

Club championships scoreboard (best two rounds out of the three preliminary rounds – after Saturday’s scores there are new leaders in six of the 7 titles): Club champion — Grant Humbert 143, Mat Dennis 156, Brett Stone 156, Terry Thomas 159. B grade — Steve Holt 170, Jeff Carnie 172, Ian Haines 175, Matt Baulch 177. C grade — Ron Dixon 182, Andrew Glatte 190, Blake Humbert 190, Ian Scurrah 193.

Nett titles: A grade — Kevin Humbert 137, Gary Milligan 138, Grant Humbert 139, Tim Staley 140, Terry Thomas 140 (nine players separated by only five shots). B grade — Steve Holt 136, Jeff Carnie 137, Ian Haines 141, Jason Wakefield 143. C grade — Ron Dixon 135, Blake Humbert 141, Andrew Glatte 143, Ian Scurrah 145. Veterans — Ron Dixon 135, Steve Holt 136, Jeff Carnie 137, Kevin Humbert 137.

It was terrific to see the ladies out having a hit last Wednesday.

Jan Clymo had a successful day winning the Ivy Kelly Tray on a countback from Carolyn Mitchell and Annette Brereton.

Jan also won B grade honours, and the B grade nearest the pin for good measure.

Carolyn won A grade on a countback from Annette Brereton and capped off her day by winning the A grade nearest the pin as well.

Upcoming events: Wednesday June 12 – Stroke – First round club championships. Saturday June 15 – Stroke – Club championships grand final day – Monthly medal. Duty: JD Wright, Darren Carnie.

Hit off times for championship leaders: 11.30 – Grant Humbert, Mat Dennis, Brett Stone and Terry Thomas. 11.40 – Ron Dixon, Andrew Glatte, Blake Humbert and Ian Scurrah. 11.50 – Steve Holt, Jeff Carnie, Ian Haines and Matt Baulch. The championship dinner will be a bring and share casserole starting between 7 and 7:30pm with a bonfire to enjoy afterwards.


On Tuesday, the chicken runners played stableford with a good turn out.

President Max Williams won again with 25 points from runner-up Alan Campbell with 20 points on a countback from Tom Carboon also on 20 points.

It was good to see Dennis Berlowitz who won the Naga Award.

On Wednesday, the ladies played stroke and last round of the championship.

Trica Bamford was the winner on the day with 77 nett, it’s good to see her playing so well.

Our ladies’ club champion is Joy Rasmussen, for the second time in a row.

Joy won by 11 strokes from Lorna Wilson.

Our Club Nett Champion went to a well deserved player, Trica Bamford.

She won by five strokes again from Lorna Wilson.

To all our ladies, during July the ladies will be playing on Sunday instead of Wednesday — this is a trial.

Names in by 11.30am for a 12pm start.

Our tournament dates are: Thursday June 13 - Ladies’ 4BBB stableford, 9.30am assembly; Friday June 14 - Men’s 4BBB stableford. Rolling start from 10.00am; Saturday June 15 - Mixed pinehurstm, 12pm assembly; Sunday June 16 - Men’s 18-hole stroke, 1.30pm assembly.