HDFNL | Hoppers stay unbeaten

On target: Colbinabbin’s Laine Fitzgerald, pictured, booted three goals for the Hoppers in Saturday’s win over Heathcote. Photo: Colbinabbin Football Netball Club

Colbinabbin has continued its undefeated start to the season with a comeback 33-point win against Heathcote on Saturday.

The Saints got the jump on the Hoppers in the first term booting five goals to one, but it was all Colbinabbin from then on as it stormed home to claim a 10.4 (64) to 15.7 (97) win.

Trailing by 26 points at quarter-time, Colbinabbin booted 14 goals to five over the next three terms to win its fifth game of the season.

Jed Brain was key for Colbinabbin up front, booting five goals, including crucial majors in the second term that helped cut the margin.

Clint Shields was another key piece for the Hoppers with four goals, while Laine Fitzgerald kicked three and Luke Moore two.

In defence Matthew Riordan and Thomas Hill were rock solid for Colbo, while Benjamin Barton was dangerous by foot with precision passing.

Colbinabbin sits second of the ladder, behind fellow unbeaten side Mount Pleasant on percentage.

On the netball court, Colbinabbin picked up its second win of the season with a two-point triumph over the Saints in a see-sawing encounter.

Zara Myers played a crucial role for the Hoppers, picking up multiple intercepts in WD to help set her side up going forward.

The win keeps Colbo within touching distance of the top part of the ladder. Colbo is one of three teams at 2-3 to start the season, and they sit one win behind third-placed Mount Pleasant.

Heathcote District Football Netball League

Heathcote: 5.2 (32), 7.3 (45), 9.3 (57), 10.4 (64)

Colbinabbin: 1.0 (6), 6.3 (39), 10.3 (63), 15.7 (97)


Heathcote: Braden Padmore, Codie Price, Brayden Klemke, Connor Hamilton, Brent Jane, William Direen

Colbinabbin: Matthew Riordan, Benjamin Barton, Laine Fitzgerald, Clint Shields, Alex Van Ruiswyk, Joel Sacco


Heathcote: Braden Padmore 4, Kai Cavallaro 3, Jackson Conforti 2, Joe Langford

Colbinabbin: Jed Brain 5, Clint Shields 4, Laine Fitzgerald 3, Luke Moore 2, Stephen Tuohey