Kyabram District League | List of club best and fairest winners

By Aydin Payne


One of the best performers of the year at the Bush Cats was Caine Atkinson and the silky mover was awarded the club's best-and-fairest. And Darci Sharp enjoyed an impressive year on the court, taking out the A-grade netball award.


After finishing runner-up last year, youngster Braydon Avola walked away with Avenel's best-and-fairest medal this year. The speedster enjoyed a strong season where he also featured in the interleague squad. And Nicole Lord took home the A-grade netball best-and-fairest after a stellar season.


At the Thunder, Pat McMullan walked away with Dookie United's senior best-and-fairest trophy after a classy season when he was in the best players eight times from his first 10 games. And Laura Henderson edged out a strong list of contenders to earn the club's A-grade netball highest individual honour in a season where her side reached the grand final.


Former VFL-listed footballer Billy Barnes clinched Girgarre's best-and-fairest award after joining the Kangaroos after the season had begun. The gun swing-man is preparing to coach the Roos next year. Netballer Jacqui Gahan went back-to-back by claiming the A-grade netball best-and-fairest award after last year's triumph.


Talented utility Zac Cerrone was crowned Lancaster's best-and-fairest winner after a sublime season for the Wombats, with his side defying the doubters and reaching a preliminary final. On the netball court, Kate Sloan was awarded the A-grade medal.


Nathan Watson was Mr Consistent at Redlegs Stadium this year, earning his way onto the list of better pllayers nine times from 15 games. While Leah Manson was the Redskirts’ standout performer on the netball court, with the A-grade best-and-fairest enjoying a strong year.


Jack Sinclair enjoyed a superb year at the Kennel, booting 26 goals from 16 games to be awarded Merrigum's best-and-fairest. First-year player Madison Egglestone took out the A-grade netball award.


Luke Cecchin took out the Grasshoppers’ medal after an impressive year on the field. While Alice Cunningham walked away with the A-grade best-and-fairest medal after leading her side to finals.


Teenage gun Blake Fothergill claimed the premier's best-and-fairest award in a season where he played 14 games for the Lakers. The medal adds to his best-on-ground effort in the grand final. And the Lakers’ A-grade medal was awarded to experienced attacker Sharni Lloyd, who caps back-to-back medals after claiming the award last year.


No surprises to see Rushworth's best-and-fairest awarded to Tualua Vave, with the Tigers’ gun named in the list of better players in all but one of his nine games for the season. Kayla Shepherd walked away with the club's A-grade netball medal.


Shepparton East's best-and-fairest went to midfield maestro Jeromy Aynsley. The medal has a slice of history behind it with the Eagles playing in the KDL for the first time. And Sarah Maskell was crowned the Eagles’ A-grade netball best-and-fairest.


It was another terrific season for the Lions and leading the way was versatile option Alec Young who claimed the club's senior best-and-fairest award. And back-to-back Warren medallist Chicky Barr claimed the club's A-grade medal for the second straight season.


Tyson Sidebottom's 43-goal season from 14 games earned him the Redlegs’ best-and-fairest medal. Sidebottom's back-to-back medal win adds to his long-list of football achievements. Quick and agile midcourter Claudia Callagher was named the best-and-fairest winner for Tallygaroopna's A-grade side.


McNamara medallist Kaine Herbert saluted in the club's vote count, winning back-to-back best-and-fairest medals for the Lions. Herbert started the year strongly, picking up from where he had left the previous season and no doubt the midfield warrior will do the same next year. Star goal shooter Amy Reid was crowned the Lions’ A-grade medal winner.


Ball magnet and disposal accumulator Matt McCarty saluted in Violet Town's senior football vote count, capping a dazzling season for the midfielder. Emma Warnock was the star of the show in the netball, claiming the Towners’ A-grade medal.