Strong field for classic fours

October 24, 2017


At Tuesday’s social bowls the women enjoyed ideal conditions. The winning rink was Kathryn Van den Bosch, Lesla Maslen, Betty Mustey and Pauline Humbert (s) all showing exceptional talent.

On Sunday the club held the prestigious Waterwheel Classic Fours Star event attracting a field of 80 bowlers from Calivil, City of Echuca, Cohuna Golf, Deniliquin, Golden Square, Lake Boga, Lockington, Mathoura, Moama, Rich River, Rochester, Stanhope, Strathfieldsaye and White Hills.

Bowlers competed in four games of 10 ends on true running greens.

After three games there were three teams undefeated including Rob Wastell (Moama), John Dinsdale (City of Echuca) and the local hope Tom Davis.

In a thrilling fourth game Davis was eliminated by the Norm Hodge rink from Moama/Rich River.

Wastell and his team-mates played percentage bowls to make the final. On rink five Dinsdale was in a real battle against the Don Isgro four, entering the final end trailing 5-9.

In an amazing turn of fortune, the team escaped elimination by picking up five shots to win 10-9 and a place in the final against the Wastell rink.

The City of Echuca rink drew first blood in the playoff, but the scores were level at 3-3 after two ends.

Dinsdale grabbed to two shots to lead 5-3 before Kevin Brennan (Moama) again tied the scores at 5-5.

An extra end required, a real battle of wits saw both teams play some excellent bowls until the Wastell four held three shots at the change-over.

Brennan added another shot while opposing skipper Steve Cunnington missed on both drives allowing the Moama rink to win the coveted trophies.

The Moama rink comprised Peter Broom, Rob Young, Rob Wastell and Kevin Brennan (s). This was the second time Broom had been a winning team member, adding to his 2005 appearance with the late Max Davie, Michael Holmes and Gordon Jonston (s).

The City of Echuca team was Tony Hawley, Lal Whyte, John Dinsdale and Steve Cunnington (s).

Club president Tom Davis and tournament secretary Chris Stewart thanked all bowlers for their continued support and made special mention of the strong sponsorship from Bendigo Bank (Lockington, Rochester & Elmore

branches) along with Maddison Livestock & Property - Lockington.

Raffle winners were Bev Brereton, Stan Mills and Bob Bartlett.

Pauline Humbert and her committee were greeted by enormous applause for another tireless and responsive effort providing the excellent meals.

On the pennant scene the midweek ladies performed well to score another victory against Rich River 69-64 (B Mustey, L Brereton, A Haines, K Palmer (s) d. J Hocken 20-18: A Lowrie, L Appleby, M Davis, P Humbert (s) drew M Stevens 20-all; L Maslen, R Shawcross, L Chugg, P MacFarlane (s) d. P Styles 29-26).

The team is currently in third position on the premiership ladder.

In weekend pennant, division two had all rinks up against Tongala in a 89-46 victory. (D Isgro, K Main, I Johnson, R Shawcross (s) d. M Golds 26-17; F Chugg, G Shawcross, R Hanson, G Turner (s) d. K Tinning 40-9; R Head, T Davis, A Kauffman, J Harris (s) d. P Cooper 23-20).

Division two held down third spot on the ladder.

Division four was completely out-bowled by Mathoura opponents to lose all rinks in a dismal 55-90 loss. (K Gibbon, D Smith, L Brereton, P Collins (s) lost to A Prime 15-35; K Cunnington, C Stewart, I Palmer, S Peter (s) l.t. D Berryman 22-27; K Stout, G Hyden, P Cunnington, N Haines (s) l.t. L Whelan 18-28).

The team remains in third place on the ladder.

Get well wishes to Leanne McInnes who is recovering from a nasty fall.

During the week several members enjoyed the well run Rich River five-a-Side event. Not much success overall, but the opportunity to play against bowlers from all round the state was appreciated.

The next tournament on the calendar is the ladies invitation fours on the November 15, 2017 starting at 10am. Contact Kath Palmer 5486 2314 for details.


November 2nd will be the beginning of Thursday Twilight Social Men’s Bowls, running for the next five weeks starting at 7pm.

This is for anyone interested in bowls, whether a new bowler or experienced. If you are interested please be there before 6.45pm, so play can start by 7pm.

Bowls are available at the club however you must wear flat soled shoes. To help with arrangements, a list will be in the club foyer to add your name to.

For more information contact John Boyd on 0429984997 or Hedley Moon on 0428445436.

Cost is $20 to cover insurance for the series, then $5 per night.

A playing social membership is available for $60, which allows access all year to greens for practice and club house. This will also cover insurance payments.

Entry sheets are in the club house, or phone club on 54841105 or Les Walles (president) on 0438843381.

Weekend pennant

Division one away to Rich River, and overall Rochester lost 59-71.

Bruce Major, John Weeks, Kevin McGreevy and David Keenan lost to Merv Harvey 21-25

Robert Clayton, Bob Knight, Garth Wiffen and Richard Feuk defeated Barry Devlin 30-15

John Boyd, Cameron Keenan, Les Walles and Peter Holzer defeated Tim Noar 20-19

Division two was at home to Rich River and drew 73-73.

Ron Gledhill, Alan Crilly, Stan Mills and Tim Quinlan lost to Noel Dixon 25-30.

Kevin Burrow, Leigh Milgate, Hedley Moon and Graham Willis lost to Max Bidgood 22-26.

Kevin Dobson, Francis Keech, Don Gillies and Gerard Browne defeated Ian Page 26-17.

Division three was at home to Echuca and lost 70-79.

Geoff McCarty, Gavin Houlihan, Des Hocking and Anton Gusak deferated Cec Moss 35-22.

Graeme Whitehead, Kevin McCormack, Ron Stranger and Bob Bartlett lost to Noel West 21-24.

Brock Keenan, Kevin Hall, John Hirst and Peter Stack lost to Carl Davis 14-33.

Division four was away to Rich River and lost 51-77.

Jim Pentelow, John Hender, Phil Hampson and Norm Christie lost to Max Kerr 17-25.

Geoff Briggs, Bert Smolenaars, Noel Sexton and David Murray lost to Barry Kelly 10-34.

Don Thompson, Rod Franklin, Clive Usher and Graham Prince defeated Des Sehestedt 24-18.

Midweek pennant

Division 1 at home to Echuca and won 79-66.

Janet Rankin, Jenny Major, Janis Tamburini and Lyn Moon defeated Gwenda Ryan 28-23.

Val Gledhill, Elaine Hall, Serena Sholl and Denise Pappin lost to Marg Shearer 21-26.

Di Milgate, Rae Ault, Ev Nichol and Marg Knight defeated Sandra Glasser 30-17.

Division two at home to Elmore and lost 66-90.

Yvonne Smolenaars, Heather Wilson, Beryl Elliot and Jane McCallum lost to Evelyn Lock 19-43.

Jan Lee, Mary Burrow, Aileen Fiedler and Gwenda Coghill defeated Barb Holmberg 25-19.

Sylvia Osterlund, Carol Cakebread, Jeannette Kneebone and Marg Harley lost to Ann Williams 22-28.

More in Campaspe News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text